The objective of the International Electrotechnical Commission IEC is to promote international cooperation on all questions of standardization and related matters in the fields of electrical and electronic engineering.
The IEC is composed of 83 national committees, (60 members and 23 associate members) representing all the industrial countries in the world.
The preparation of standards, technical specifications and technical reports is entrusted to 104 technical committees (TCs) and 100 subcommittees (SCs).